Style:  Hip Hop
Real Name:
From:  Christchurch, New Zealand

Twitter:  @maitreya_now







Listen / Buy




  • Maitreya began his career in 1995 as a founding member of live Hip Hop band, Nilstate in Christchurch, New Zealand.  In 1998 he joined the crew Dark Tower, releasing The Baggy Trousers Project EP in 2000, which became a kiwi Hip Hop classic.
  • After three years on Auckland radio station Mai FM’s Breakfast Show, Maitreya moved to the Mecca of Hip Hop, New York City, where he secured an internship at Roc-a-FellaRecords (Jay-Z).  He immersed himself in New York’s Open Mic scene and performed a monthly show Illegal in and around the Lower East Side.
  • In ‘06,  Maitreya hit music funding site,, his self produced demo’s raising $50,000 in 7 months.  The result is his debut Close To Home, produced by The Silence & Maitreya and mastered at Universal Mastering Studios New York by Vlado Meller (Kanye West, Public Enemy, Run DMC etc).
  • From 2007-08,Maitreya toured through the UK, Europe and Hong Kong on his way back to release Close To Home in New Zealand.  Once home, he toured new Zealand extensively with King Kapisi, Tha Feelstyle and Scalper, releasing his album Close To Home early 2010.
  • Maitreya released Te Puna Reka – The Sweet Flow during Māori language week 2010.  Featuring Māori language interpretations of songs from Close To Home, the EP’s single Sin City featuring Awa won Maitreya the country’s top prize in Māori songwriting, the 2010 Maioha Silver Scroll.
  • When late in 2010 and early 2011 two massive Earthquakes hit Maitreya’s hometown of Christchurch, he helped to organize the relief concert Band Together.  He then released a CHUR TO THE CHUR Relief EP to help raise funds for the city, featuring a remix with NZ Hip Hop legends Che Fu & King Kapisi.
  • Late in 2011, Maitreya began recording his second album Āio, supported by the government’s Māori Language funding body Te Māngai Pāho, the album was released in 2012.
  • Maitreya is also a member of The Babysitters Circus, a funk, dance, electronic freak show formed in 2009. Their Top 10 single Everything’s Gonna Be Alright went Platinum in New Zealand in December 2011. An album is scheduled for release in 2012.

2 Responses to “Maitreya”


  1. 11-Jan-2013: Indiginous Dubs Artist Links « indiginous dubs resource - January 30, 2013

    […] Maitreya […]

  2. 01-February-2013: Indiginous Dubs Playlist « indiginous dubs resource - February 2, 2013

    […] Maitreya […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: